Apache2 [SOLVED]: Apache Newbie Confused – Can't make directory listing work

Apache2 [SOLVED]: Apache Newbie Confused – Can't make directory listing work

Home Forums Apache2 Apache2 [SOLVED]: Apache Newbie Confused – Can't make directory listing work

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

QuestionQuestion

Hopefully some of you can help me out.

I’m a beginner when it comes to Apache and am trying to teach myself its core elements by going through the groundwork to set up a server with DirectoryListing and Password Authentication in my VMware on ubuntu.

What I want to accomplish:
    Be able to connect to “site1.com” and see a directory listing such as:
    https://imgur.com/a/gFhdY

My issue is the following:

I have the following code in my config file within /etc/apache2/sites-available/site1.com.conf (forgive the formatting, first post on here in years):

<VirtualHost *:80>
    ServerAdmin serveradmin@admin.com
    ServerName site1.com
    ServerAlias www.site1.com
    DocumentRoot /var/www/site1.com/public_html
    ErrorLog ${APACHE_LOG_DIR}/error.log
    CustomLog ${APACHE_LOG_DIR}/access.log combined

<Directory "/var/www/site1.com/public_html>
     AuthType Basic
     AuthName "Restricted Content"
     AuthUserFile /etc/apache2/.htpasswd
     Require valid-user
     Options Indexes
     Index Options FoldersFirst IgnoreCase
     </Directory>
     </VirtualHost>

The password authentication works just fine, but I’m not sure where I’m supposed to put files to see if the Directory Listing works or if the Directory Listing simply doesn’t work. When I connect to site1.com on my virtual machine, I simply see the contents of index.html within /var/www/site1.com/public_html/index.html and see no files listed.